The first Serbian Uprising represents the beginning of the Serbian revolution, which, according to historians beliefs, lasted until 1815, including the Second Serbian Uprising.
This Uprising included the Uprising of Serbs in the Belgrade Pashaluk and the surrounding six “nahija” against the Turks in the period of the 14th of February 1804 up until the 7th of October in 1813 against the so-called days, and it grew into the first phase of the Serbian Revolution. The revolutionaries, led by Karadjordje, managed to free the Pashaluk in a relevant time period.

This Uprising preceded the Second Serbian Uprising in 1815, which led to the ultimate creation of a modern Serbia.

Several opinions that date back to 1918 and even the end of the First World War claim that the revolution actually ended with the issuance of “hatišerif” in 1830.
In any case, all historians agree that the First Serbian Uprising represented the beginning of the Serbian fight for liberation, the creation if a Serbian modern state in the 19th century.

As such, it holds a very special place in the history of the Serbian people and its state, and thus we mark its beginning as the Statehood Day of the Republic of Serbia, the 15th of February.

The Uprising was initiated as a reaction to the “janjičarski” regime in the Belgrade Pashaluk, and among its goals were the liberation from Turks, rebuilding the state and the creation of new state institutions, cultural rebirth and abolition of feudalism.
The First Serbian Constitution was issued in Kragujevac, 15th of February, 1835 and it was divided into 11 different sections, and 142 articles. With this, Serbia was defined as an independent “Kneževina”, and it was separated into different districts, counties and municipalities.

This Constitution is known as the “Sretenjski” Constitution because it was voted upon on “Sretenje Gospodnje” on the 14th of February. This Constitution was elaborated by the State Secretary Dimitrije Davidović (doctor, politician and journalist – At the beginning of his career, Dimitrije worked as the personal doctor of knez Miloš) who also worked on the issuance of the aforementioned “hatišerif” in Constantinople. By this Constitution, the rights of the Knez (Miloš) were limited and party transferred to the State Council. This Constitution was extremely advanced for its time and even indicated the beginnings of a democratic rule.
Under the pressure of Turkey, Austria and Russia who did not have a Constitution at the time, knez Miloš quickly abolished the Constitution, nearly two months after it was put into effect.
Three years after these events, the Turkish Constitution was introduced (1838).

With this highest act in the state, first in the history of Serbia, everything was regulated, from state symbols to the placement and role of the Stare council and the significance of the Parliament and Knez in the new order.

Due to its historical significance for the Serbian people and the state, the 15th of February was elected as Statehood Day on the 10th of July, 2001.